The Benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar

This is not a post about how to make vinegar. No idea how to do that.  This is a post about how cool apple cider vinegar is.

I’ve always liked the taste of vinegar. I don’t know why, I just do.  I just thought it tasted good though, until one time I had a headache, and for some reason I felt myself craving apple cider vinegar.

Finding the solution to my headache was any port in a storm; so I made myself a glass of water with apple cider vinegar and stevia, and my headache cleared up almost immediately.

Since then, I have it all the time.  It clears up pretty much every minor ailment: stomachaches, headaches; it’s even helped me feel better when I’ve had heat stroke (hot summer this year).

Another of its numerous benefits is balancing the ph of your stomach. If you have chronic stomach problems when you eat, try having a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar before every meal.

I’ve done many variations of this recipe, including making it into an electrolyte beverage by adding chia seeds, honey, and cayenne pepper (just a little).

image

Here’s the recipe:

  • 8oz water
  • 1-2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 5-7 drops NuNaturals liquid stevia

 

And the variation: When you use honey, it’s better to dissolve it in warm water first, and then chill it after you add the other ingredients.  Warm water helps the chia seeds gel up faster too.

  • 8oz water
  • 1-2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp. raw honey
  • 1-2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 5 drops NuNaturals liquid stevia

 

  1. Combine all of the ingredients in the water.
  2. Add ice for a fun summer cooler.  Or, heat it in a saucepan (do not use a microwave!) for a cozy but zesty tea.
3 thoughts on “The Benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar

    • Thanks for reblogging my post, Megan! I’m glad it was appreciated. I’ve tried for a long time to come up with a remedy for my migraine headaches. It’s cool that it tastes good too!

Thank you for commenting on glutenfreedomforkids!

