Chia Seeds

Chia seeds are probably one of my top five favorite foods.  They are super sustaining; I usually add them to my ACV beverage on Saturdays when I am dancing all day.  Added to liquid of any kind, and allowed to sit a few minutes, chia seeds will create a jelly-like texture that is delicious.

One of my favorite things to do with them is to make a grain-free porridge.  I usually use organic coconut milk as the base, then add chia seeds, honey or stevia, and, for an occasional treat, cocoa.  See my recipe here:

 

They are also great in grain-free baking, serving as a binding agent, and creating a texture somewhat like yeasted bread.

You can now buy them at Costco, which is great; Costco also has the best prices I have yet found. (They are pricey!), but they’re worth it!  If I were to choose two ingredients for Paleo and GAPS baking, they would be eggs… and… no big surprise… chia seeds!

I will call for them in quite a few of my recipes, so make sure you always have some on hand! Have fun experimenting with them too!

Best to your kitchen,

Frances

 

 

One thought on “Chia Seeds

  1. Pingback: Nut-free, Coconut-free Chia-seed Porridge! | glutenfreedomforkids

Thank you for commenting on glutenfreedomforkids!

